Board of Trustees 2017-2018

Executive Board

President:  Lisa Bakanas

Lisa Bakanas has been a School Library Media Specialist for 10 years at Cherokee High School in Marlton, NJ. She received her Master of Arts in School and Public Librarianship from Rowan University. She began volunteering with NJASL after receiving the NJASL Villy Gandhi award in 2011 and became an Executive Board Member of NJASL in 2012, serving as Corresponding Secretary. She then served for two years as NJASL Member-at-Large, co-chairing two NJASL Spring Meetings and last year's Annual Fall conference.  Prior to becoming a librarian Lisa worked as a systems analyst, a project manager and enjoyed 9 years home raising her 3 sons.  If she is not in the library, she is traveling or trying to find time to craft. Follow her on social media @lisabakanas. 

President-Elect: Christina Cucci
Christina Cucci has been a School Library Media Specialist for 7 years, working with K-2 students in Upper Saddle River, NJ. She served as a classroom teacher for 11 years prior, educating students in grades K-3. Christina was selected as the 2015 ALA Emerging Leader and helped co-write a toolkit for AASL called Promoting School Library Programs. She is the former Co-President of the Bergen/ Passaic affiliate of NJASL.  Christina lives in Morristown, and gardens every summer and snowboards in the winter.

      Vice-President: Jill Mills

     Jill Mills is an elementary librarian for Preschool through Grade 3 students in Chatham.       In her thirteen years as a school librarian, she has worked across Morris County, and in 2010 she received Lakeland Hills YMCA  Educator of the Year and Lake Parsippany School’s Teacher of the Year.  As an active participant of Morris County School Media Association, Jill has served as President, Programming Coordinator, and currently serves as the Regional Consortium Chair.  Jill also sits on the Advisory Board of the New Jersey Literacy Association.

  Recording Secretary: Michelle McGreivey

Michelle McGreivey has been a school library media specialist at Hoboken High School since 2002. Prior to that, she worked in a variety of public, academic and special libraries in New Jersey and other states. Past NJASL positions include the electronic discussion list and conference subcommittees. She has been serving as Secretary since August 2014. Michelle values her participation in NJASL and appreciates the many ways in which the organization provides value to our members. Michelle also serves on the board of directors of LibraryLinkNJ.

Treasurer: Jean Stock


  Jean is the Library Media Specialist at Larchmont Elementary, a K-4 school in Mount Laurel. She began her position at Larchmont in 2012 after graduating from the Rutgers MLIS program. Jean has been NJASL’s Treasurer since August 2014 and before that served on the Website Committee. NJASL sponsored Jean as an ALA Emerging Leader in 2014.

Member-at-Large: Beth Thomas                                                                                                                                                         
Beth Thomas has been a school librarian at Lawton C. Johnson Summit Middle School in Summit, NJ since 2001. Prior to working in Summit, she taught Language Arts in West Orange. She has an MLIS from Rutgers University, a BA in English from Drew University, and a minor in Secondary Education from The College of St. Elizabeth. Beth has presented workshops at the district level and conference sessions for NJASL and NJECC. She has also volunteered for AASL and NJASL. Beth has gained much from her membership in NJASL and is honored to serve as a Member-at-Large.
    Member-at-Large: Kim Zito

    Kim Zito, MLIS Rutgers 2001, has been the Library Media Specialist at Crossroads North Middle School in South Brunswick since 2001, where she is a frequent provider of staff development.  Prior to that, she was a survey specialist at Mathematica Policy Research and a middle school Social Studies teacher. She has served as the Schools Representative to the South Brunswick Public LIbrary Board since 2008.  Kim was selected as the Miss Rumphius Award winner in 2011 for her work with South Brunswick Reads. She is a frequent presenter at NJASL and is co-founder and host of LitCamp/ Team Edcamp. Kim also works part-time as a Reference Librarian at the Monroe Township Public LIbrary.  @kimzito / @XrdnLib

      Committee Chairs

      Formal Affiliates


      Copyright © 2018 New Jersey Association of School Librarians

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software